List of documents
for a Schengen visa

Schengen Visa


Obtaining a Schengen visa of category "C" is necessary if you plan to visit the Republic of Latvia for private, official or tourist purposes, and the duration of your stay in the Schengen area will not exceed 90 days in the past 180 days.

The Schengen visa allows you to stay in the Republic of Latvia for the visa period and to cross internal borders of the other member states of the Schengen Agreement.

The Schengen Agreement stipulates for a Schengen visa to be applied for at the Consulate of the destination country.

Common Schengen visas are valid on the territories of the following states: Austria, Belgium, Hungary, Germany, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Greece, Estonia, Iceland, Italy, Spain, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Finland, Sweden and Switzerland.  
Under the Visa Code, the member state of the Schengen Agreement whose territory is the only destination of a travel (travels) is authorised to review and make a decision on a visa application.
If an applicant intends to visit a few member states of the Schengen Area, in order to obtain a Schengen visa, he/she should contact the Consulate of the country where the applicant plans to stay more days.
If the number of days in all countries is the same, the visa must be requested in the Consulate of the country of first entry.
Dear applicants, please note that the Visa Centre of the Republic of Latvia accepts documents only for a short-term Schengen visa (Category C) from:
  • Citizens of the Republic of Belarus;
  • Citizens of third countries legally residing on the territory of the Republic of Belarus (residence permit or visa of the Republic of Belarus).