List of documents
for a Schengen visa

Schengen Visa

The Schengen visa allows you to stay in the Republic of Latvia for the visa period and to cross internal borders of the other member states of the Schengen Agreement.

The Schengen Agreement stipulates for a Schengen visa to be applied for at the Consulate of the destination country.

Common Schengen visas are valid on the territories of the following states: Austria, Belgium, Hungary, Germany, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Greece, Estonia, Iceland, Italy, Spain, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Finland, Sweden and Switzerland.

Under the Visa Code, the member state of the Schengen Agreement  whose territory is the only destination of a travel (travels) is authorised to review and make a decision on a visa application.

If an applicant intends to visit a few member states of the Schengen Area, in order to obtain a Schengen visa, he/she should contact the Consulate of the country where the applicant plans to stay the greatest number of days.

If the number of days of stay in all the countries is equal, the Consulate of the first-entry country must be approached.

A Schengen visa should be applied for at the Consulate of the intended destination country.  If during your travel you plan to visit a few countries with equal periods of stay in each one, making it impossible to single out the main country of stay, you should apply for a visa in the first-entry country. 

Dear applicants, please note that the Visa Centre of the Republic of Latvia only accepts documents for a short-term Schengen visa (Category C), without expedition, from:

  • Citizens of the Republic of Belarus;
  • Citizens of third countries, lawfully domiciling within  the territory of the Republic of Belarus (a residence permit or a year’s visa of the Republic of Belarus).